2017 Hubbell Awards Presented

September 16, 2017  •   • 

The Hubbell Awards Inc. Scholarship Recipients and Future Hopefuls at Manitoba Legislature, September 16, 2017.


At a formal ceremony on Saturday, September 16, 2017, the 2017 Hubbell Awards were presented to nine Manitoba cadets in the Manitoba Room of the Manitoba Legislative Buildings. These nine cadets, two Sea Cadets, two Army Cadets and five Air Cadets, were chosen from over 40 applicants. The two Sea Cadets receiving scholarships this year were CPO1 Rilley Howells and CPO2 Rheanne Millet, both members of RCSCC John Travers Cornwell VC.

The Hubbell Awards Inc. is a small charity whose mission is to provide scholarships to cadets, currently enrolled in a Manitoba corps or squadron, who will be continuing their education at a civilian technical institute, college or university.

This year’s ceremony began with introductory remarks from Major-General (Ret’d) Ray Henault, CMM, MSC, CD, Patron - Hubbell Awards Incorporated (read speech notes) and Jon Reyes, MLA, Manitoba Special Envoy for Military Affairs. These remarks were followed by a keynote address from Brigadier-General Kelly Woiden, OMM, CD, Commander National Cadet and Junior Canadian Rangers Support Group (read his biography and speech notes).

After the speeches, the scholarships were presented to the cadets. The first scholarship was presented to CPO1 Rilley Howells, who received The Surgeon Captain Gordon P. Fahrni, DSC, MD Award from Bob Vandewater, a representative of the Fahrni family. The next scholarship was presented to CPO2 Rheanne Millet, who received The Manitoba Navy League Division Award from Jim Bruce, a representative of the Manitoba Division of The Navy League of Canada.

In addition to The Hubbell Awards scholarships, each of the cadets received a bursary from the Manitoba Government. Presenting those bursaries, on behalf of the Manitoba Government, was Jon Reyes, Manitoba Special Envoy for Military Affairs.

A reception, in the Rotunda of the Manitoba Legislative Building, followed the presentation of the scholarships.

For more information about the awards and these presentations visit The Hubbell Awards Inc. website and view the Awards Ceremony Programme.


CPO1 Rilley Howells recipient of The Surgeon Captain Gordon P. Fahrni, DSC, MD Award.

CPO2 Rheanne Millet, recipient of The Manitoba Navy League Division Award.

CPO2 Rheanne Millet and CPO1 Rilley Howells with Gen. Kelly Woiden and Jon Reyes.

Norm Sparks, John Jamieson, CPO2 Millet, Don Bullee, Jim Bruce and CPO1 Howells.